You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Mizoram polls: Debutant NPP to contest in 8 seats

Press Trust of India  |  Aizawl 

The (NPP) will contest eight seats in the elections on November 28, party national said Thursday.

The NPP was launched in by its and minister, Conrad Sangma, on September 29.

told that the NPP candidates would be filing their nominations either on Thursday or Friday, which is the last date of filing nominations.

"Former parliamentary Hmingdailova Khiangte, who recently resigned from the after being denied ticket by the ruling Congress, would be NPP's candidate for Tuirial seat in district, located on the border with Assam," said.

NPP state unit convener Lianzuala will contest from the Dampa constituency, while a retired (IFS) officer, B Suanzalang, will try his electoral luck from Champhai North seat.

Former of the erstwhile underground Hmar People's Convention (HPC), Hmingchungnunga, would be the NPP's nominee in the Serlui seat, while Kapliana Pachuau, a and a fresher, would contest from the prestigious Serchhip seat against giants like minister and (ZPM) ministerial nominee Lalduhoma.

First timers -- John Lalremruata, Lalhuliana and D D Chakma -- will contest from Kolasib, Thorang and Tuichawng seats, respectively.

In Meghalaya, the NPP is the of the ruling MDA alliance, while in and it is also part of the ruling alliance. It is part of the BJP-led NDA government at the Centre and a constituent of the North East (NEDA).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, November 08 2018. 17:25 IST