You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

MP Assembly pays tribute to ex-PM Vajpayee and other leaders

Press Trust of India  |  Bhopal 

The 15th Legislative Assembly Wednesday paid tributes to former prime minister late Atal Bihari Vajpayee, ex- and other leaders.

Tributes were also paid to other departed leaders including former members of the state assembly.

The five-day session of the Assembly began January 7. While MLAs took oath on the first day, on the second day election of was held, followed by address of state Governor

After the proceedings began Wednesday, newly-elected NP Prajapati mentioned Vajpayee, Chatterjee and 12 other leaders.

Vajpayee, 93, died due to at AIIMS in on August 16 last year. Chatterjee, 89, breathed his last in Kolkata on August 13.

Recalling his association with Vajpayee, Chief Minister said the former PM was endeared as a by various sections.

"I have seen him as an MP, a minister and a prime minister. He was not a but a who was loved by every section of the society. He was an example in himself who gave a new direction to the country's politics," Nath said.

Nath, a veteran leader, said he learned a lot from Chatterjee, a veteran

"He was the of Under him, all (MPs) practiced discipline. Lok Sabha's functioning was very peaceful during his tenure," the said.

Chatterjee had served as Speaker of the 14th Lok Sabha.

of Opposition (BJP) hailed Vajpayee as a multi-faceted personality.

Former said the BJP patriarch was an who took BJP from zero to the top.

"He was a political thinker, a poet, and an orator. There is no such example in the world," he said.

The House also recalled contributions by departed leaders including former Rajya Sabha

Tributes were also paid to former MLAs late Indrajit Kumar, Devi Singh Patel, Ramanand Singh, Dayal Singh, Jugal Kishore Bajaj, Swami Prasad Lodhi, Prabhunarayan Tripathi, Vimal Kumar Chauradia, Anand Kumar Shrivastav, Radhakrishna Bhagat and

The House observed a two-minute silence as a mark of respect to these leaders before it was adjourned for the day.

The five-day session is scheduled to culminate on January 11.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, January 09 2019. 18:40 IST