You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

MP polls: Cong announces 5th list, ex-BJP leader Sartaj Singh gets ticket

Press Trust of India  |  Bhopal 

The on Thursday declared its fifth list of 16 candidates for the Assembly elections, which included former Union Sartaj Singh, who moved to the party from the BJP earlier in the day.

The opposition party announced Singh as its candidate from Hoshangabad minutes after he quit the BJP which denied him ticket in its third list.

Singh (71), a sitting MLA from Seoni-Malwa, will take on Assembly and BJP candidate in Hoshangabad.

Among the new faces fielded by the in the fifth list is who will contest from Jabalpur North.

The has thus announced 225 candidates for the November 28 elections to the 230-member Assembly.

The party is yet to announce candidates for Budhni (district), Manpur (Dhar), Indore-2, Indore-5 and Jatara (Tikamgarh)

It is hunting for a heavy-weight candidate against Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the BJP's face for the polls, in his bastion Budhni, so that he is confined to his constituency, Congress sources said.

The ruling BJP is yet to announce six candidates.

is the third in the state to join the Congress after and Sharma is the sitting BJP MLA from Tendukhenda in district.

The Congress has nominated the former Union from Seoni-Malwa constituency for the upcoming polls.

Shukla, who resigned as the state and quit the BJP, has bagged Congress nomination from Vijjayraghavgarh constituency in district.

Besides, the Congress has given ticket to Sanjay Singh Masani, of minister Chouhan, from Waraseoni in district.

Waraseoni is currently represented by BJP's Yogendra Nirmal.

Masani's name figured in the Congress' fourth list, released Wednesday night.

The Congress had announced its first list on November 3.

In the current Assembly, the party has 57 MLAs.

The Congress has been out of power in Madhya Pradesh since 2003. The incumbent (BJP) government is seeking a fourth straight term.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, November 08 2018. 22:15 IST