You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Rift surfaces within GA, NDA over elections on 4 council seats

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

Rift has surfaced within the Grand Alliance in over distribution of four seats of state Legislative Council that will go to poll on March 9 with denied of any seat.

Within Grand Alliance, JD(U) and RJD are contesting on two seats each with drawing a blank.

Murmuring is not confined to Grand Alliance only but also in the camp where LJP of Ramvilas Paswan is determined to field its candidate on Gaya teachers seat against ally RLSP.

In the camp, while has got two seats Gaya graduate and Kosi teachers, HAM got Saran graduates and RLSP Gaya teachers constituency.

Legislative Council Chairman Awdesh Narayan Singh is seeking re-for third consecutive term from Gaya graduates seat. He faces challenge from RJD Puneet Singh.

State President and minister Ashok Choudhary told reporters that "nomination is open till February 20 and just wait and see what the party does."

Congress Legislature Party leader Sadanand Singh was more forthcoming and complained it was against "gatbandhan dharma".

Stating that Congress has rightful claim over Gaya Graduate seat where its candidate had come second last time and it should get it, Singh, eight term MLA from Kahalgaon, urged JD(U) and RJD to rethink over it.

When asked about Congress discontentment over denial of any seat in Legislative Council poll, RJD President Lalu Prasad told reporters today that since there were only four seats "we RJD and JD(U) have fielded candidates on two seas each. When more seats get vacated we'll accomodate Congress then."

JD(U) state spokesman Neeraj Kumar, MLC, said the two seats the party was contesting are its sitting seats.

On murmuring within camp, chief spokesman of Binod Narayan Jha told PTI that "its not a big issue. NDA leadership would forge unity among coalition partners in the next 2-4 days...There will be one to one contest between NDA and Grand Alliance nominees on all the seats."

LJP state party spokesman Ashraf Ansari said RLSP claim over Gaya teachers seat was not justified as its nominee Sanjeev Shyam Singh had last time won from here as an Independent. "LJP candidate D N Sinha will contest Gaya teachers seat in any circumstance," Ansari added.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, February 17 2017. 18:02 IST