Business Standard

Union Minister Jigajinagi among 11 candidates file nominations


Press Trust of India Bengaluru
Union Minister Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi was among 11 candidates who filed their nominations on Saturday for 14 Lok Sabha constituencies that will go to the polls in the second phase on April 23.
A total of 11 candidates filed 13 nominations on Saturday, poll officials said, adding that cumulative nominations filed so far stood at 53 from 41 candidates.
Jigajinagi, a sitting BJP MP from Bijapur is seeking re-election from the same seat.
The Minister of State for Drinking Water and Sanitation is pitted against Sunitha Devanand Chavan of JD(S).
Sunita is the wife of Devanand Chavan, a JD(S) MLA from Nagthan.
Another sitting MP Bhagwanth Khuba also filed his nomination from Bidar, where Karnataka Congress Working President and sitting MLA Eshwar Khandre is his opponent.
Virupakshi S Sadhunnavar from Belgaum was the only Congress candidate who filed his nomination Saturday, while the other candidates were largely independents and from smaller parties.
Sadhunnavar is fielded against BJPs sitting MP Suresh Angadi from Belgaum seat.
Karnataka will go to the polls in two phases, 14 constituencies each, on April 18 and 23.
For the first phase of polls on April 18, 241 candidates are in the fray.
For the second phase on April 23, the last date for filing nomination is April 4.
Scrutiny will take place on April 5 and the last day for withdrawal is April 8.
Counting of votes and announcement of results for both phases will be held on May 23.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 30 2019 | 8:21 PM IST

Explore News