You are here: Home » Sports » India Sri Lanka series » News

IND vs SL 2nd T20I Live: Nissanka's knock in vain as Iyer wins it for India

India won the 2nd T20I vs Sri Lanka to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series courtesy of a brilliant showing from Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja and Sanju Samson. Catch the Highlights

India cricket team | Sri Lanka cricket team | India vs Sri Lanka

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Shreyas Iyer and Ravindra Jadeja guide India home in the 2nd T20I vs Sri Lanka at Dharamsala. Photo: @ICC
Shreyas Iyer and Ravindra Jadeja guide India home in the 2nd T20I vs Sri Lanka at Dharamsala. Photo: @ICC
IND vs SL Live Update: India captain has now sealed seal yet another series win as his team beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets, chasing down 184 with 17 balls remaining in the second T20I of the three-match series at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala. This is now the 11th consecutive T20I victory for the men in blue and if they beat Sri Lanka in the third T20I as well, they will equal Afghanistan's record for most T20I wins on a trot for a Test-playing nation. 

Iyer-Jadeja-Samson- The trio that won India the game

It was the trio of Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson and Ravindra Jade as the Indian openers and Ishan Kishan were taken early by Sri Lankan pacers Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara. From 44-2 in the 6th over to 80-2 at the end of the 10th, India were struggling big time. However, the knocks of 74* from Shreyas Iyer, 39 off 25 balls from Sanju Samson and 45 off just 18 balls from Jadeja made sure that the game was finished in just 17.1 overs. 

Shanaka storm at Dharamsala

Earlier in the evening, the rain clouds might have gone off and there was no update of rain, but a storm did come and it was from the bat of Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka, who hit 47 off just 19 balls. He hit five lofty sixes, one among which might have been the biggest of the season almost. Along with Shanaka, Nissanka was great with the bat as well as he hit 75 off just 53 balls to lay the foundation for a great total. They set India a target of 184 to win the match and take the series as well. 

Toss Update: India win toss elect to bowl first

India captain won the toss and decided to bowl first at the picturesque and clody Dharamsala and his counterpart Dasun Shanka also wanted to bowl first. 

Sri Lanka have made two changes in the Playing 11 with Binura Fernando coming in for Jeffery Vandersay and Danushka Gunathilaka who came in for Janith Liyanage

India Playing 11

Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Hooda, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka Playing 11

Pathum Nissanka, Kamil Mishara, Danushka Gunathilaka, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Dasun Shanaka (c), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrama, Binura Fernando, Lahiru Kumara

Catch all the Highlights, Scores, Updates and commentary from 2nd T20I here


Auto Refresh