You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2020 » News

IPL 2020, KXIP vs RR highlights: RR wins; spice up race for playoffs

Chasing 186 for a win, RR overhauled the target in 17.3 overs with Stokes top-scoring with a magnificent 26-ball 50. Sanju Samson was also equally impressive during his knock of 48 from 25 balls

IPL 2020 | Kings XI Punjab | Rajasthan Royals

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


In match 50 of (IPL 2020), star England all-rounder Ben Stokes stole the limelight from Chris Gayle as clicked as a unit to beat by seven wickets and stay afloat in the at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi on Friday.

Stokes hit a 26-ball 50 and also claimed two wickets to emerge as the star performer for his team.

Earlier, Gayle had smashed a 63-ball 99 to power KXIP to 185 for four but it went in vain.

Who holds orange and purple caps in 2020 IPL? Check here

Chasing 186 for a win, RR overhauled the target in 17.3 overs with Stokes top-scoring with a magnificent 26-ball 50. Sanju Samson was also equally impressive during his knock of 48 from 25 balls.

Opener Robin Uthappa contributed 30, while captain Steve Smith, who has been struggling for form, and Jos Buttler remained not out on 31 and 22 respectively to take RR home and snap KXIP's five-match winning streak.

RR's collective batting effort ensured that KXIP batsman Chris Gayle's superb 99 went in vain. During his knock, the West Indies batsman had taken his tally of sixes to 1001 in his glorious T20 career.

Check 2020 IPL points table and team standings here

With the win, their sixth in 13 matches, RR kept themselves alive for a spot in the play-offs with 12 points with one game left. Despite the loss, KXIP also remained in contention with 12 points from 13 matches.

RR made an explosive start to their run chase with Stokes and Uthappa stitching 60 runs inside powerplay. Stokes was in magnificent form during his short innings as he got the boundaries with ease.

KXIP vs RR full scorecard


The star England all-rounder hit Murugan Ashwin for two sixes and a four to take 16 runs from the fourth over. He reached his fifty off 24 balls when he hoisted Chris Jordan for a six in the sixth over.

Check IPL playoffs qualification of both the teams

But Jordan got his revenge by removing Stokes two balls later.

RR were still cruising ahead at 66 for 1 at the end of powerplay and with Samson firing on all cylinders, they went past the 100-run mark in the 10th over.

The fireworks were halted after Uthappa fell in the 11th over to Ashwin but RR were in complete control with the asking rate less than seven runs an over with seven wickets in hand.

Earlier, Gayle continued his menacing form, smashing a 63-ball 99 to steer Punjab to 185 for 4 after being put in to bat.

Gayle and captain KL Rahul (46) took the RR bowlers to the cleaners, stitching 120 runs for the second wicket in 13.4 overs to help KXIP post a challenging total.

Nicholas Pooran played a late cameo of 22 off just 10 deliveries with the help of three sixes.

Gayle, who had four boundaries and eight sixes in his explosive innings, was out just two balls before the end of the innings and he showed his disappointment of missing out on a hundred by throwing down his bat.

KXIP lost their first wicket in the opening over itself when Mandeep Singh got dismissed for a first-ball duck with Ben Stokes taking a brilliant diving catch off an equally superb delivery by Archer.

But Gayle and Rahul maintained a high scoring rate, reaching 53 for 1 at the end of powerplay. The self-styled 'Universe Boss' smacked two fours and six in consecutive deliveries off pacer Kartik Tyagi.

Gayle reached his third fifty in six matches in this IPL in style, hitting a six off Rahul Tewati in the 11th over as KXIP cruised along to reach the 100-run mark in the 13th over.

Stokes finally got the breakthrough by getting rid of tournament's top run-getter Rahul in the 15th over to put brakes on KXIP innings.

KXIP vs RR playing 11
has made one change in its playing 11, bringing in Varun Aaron for Ankit Rajpoot while is unchanged.

RR playing 11: Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Steven Smith(c), Sanju Samson(w), Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Varun Aaron, Kartik Tyagi.

KXIP playing 11: KL Rahul(w/c), Mandeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh.

KXIP vs RR scorecard: Kings XI Punjab's innings

Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
KL Rahul c Tewatia b Stokes 46 41 3 2
Mandeep Singh c Stokes b Archer 0 1 0 0
Chris Gayle b Archer 99 63 6 8
Nicholas Poora c Tewatia b Stokes 22 10 0 3
Glenn Maxwell not out 6 6 1 0
Deepak Hooda not out 1 1 0 0
Total: 185-4 in 20 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Jofra Archer 4 0 26 2
Varon Aaron 4 0 47 0
Kartik Tyagi 4 0 47 0
Shreyas Gopal 1 0 10 0
Ben Stokes 4 0 32 2
Rahul Tewatia 3 0 22 0


Auto Refresh