Business Standard

Rohit Sharma, 4 others get Khel Ratna; Arjuna Award for Dutee Chand

The government on Friday announced the full list of sportspersons who will be awarded the National Sports Awards on August 29

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma will be conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award on August 29, 2020

BS Web Team New Delhi
Indian opening batsman Rohit Sharma will be the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award while ace sprinter Dutee Chand will receive Arjuna Award on August 29 at the National Sports Awards ceremony.

Apart from Sharma, Mariyappan T. (Para Athletics), Manika Batra (Table Tennis), Vinesh (Wrestling) and Rani (Hockey) will also be conferred with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Sports Awards are given every year to the most outstanding performance by a sportsperson over a period of four years, whereas Arjuna Award is given for consistent outstanding performance for four years.

Dronacharya Award goes to the coaches

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Aug 21 2020 | 7:30 PM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to