You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2020 » News

IPL 2020 SRH vs DC highlights: SRH win by 88 runs, keep playoffs hope alive

Hyderabad needs to win its next two matches while hoping that KKR or KXIP don't reach 16 points. If there is a tie at 14, then SRH has best chance to qualify for playoffs on the basis positive NRR

IPL 2020 | Delhi Capitals | Sunrisers Hyderabad

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Wriddhiman Saha stamped his class with a 45-ball 87 before Rashid Khan dished out a clinical bowling performance as kept themselves alive in the race for IPL play-offs with a whopping 88-run win over Delhi Capital, at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday. Asked to bat first, splendid knocks by Saha (87), skipper David Warner (66) and Manish Pandey (44) powered Sunrisers to 219 for two.

SRH playoffs chances

Hyderabad needs to win its next two matches while hoping that KKR or KXIP don’t reach 16 points. If there is a tie at 14, then SRH has best chance to qualify for playoffs on the basis positive NRR

Teams Play Won Loss Tie NR PTS NRR
MI 11 7 4 0 0 14 1.252
RCB 11 7 4 0 0 14 0.092
DC 12 7 5 0 0 14 0.03
KXIP 12 6 6 0 0 12 -0.049
KKR 12 6 6 0 0 12 -0.479
SRH 12 5 7 0 0 10 0.396
RR 12 5 7 0 0 10 -0.505
CSK 12 4 8 0 0 6 -0.602

Check 2020 IPL points table and team standings here

 Star spinner Rashid then led a fine bowling display to end with the impressive figures of 4-0-7-3, his best in this season.

The Afghan bowled an astonishing 17 dot balls in his quota of four overs, helping his side bowl out the Capitals for 131 in 19 overs.

Sunrisers (10 points) have now moved up to sixth from seventh position with this win, while the Capitals, who slumped to their third consecutive loss, were pushed down to the third spot with 14 points.

Who holds orange and purple caps in 2020 IPL? Check here

Chasing a stiff target, it was a rather ordinary performance by the the Capitals batsmen. Shikhar Dhawan (0) and Marcus Stoinis (5), who was elevated to number 3, perished in the first two overs.

Ajinkya Rahane (26) and Shimron Heytmyer (16) quickly started the recovery work, stitching a 40 run stand, the highest for their team. The duo targeted Jason Holder, collecting 22 runs in the sixth over as Delhi reached 54 for two at the end of the Powerplay overs.

However, Rashid dealt Delhi with twin blows, getting rid of both Rahane and Hetmyer in the seventh over. Skipper Shreyas Iyer (7) was next to depart as wickets continued to tumble at regular intervals.

Seven of Delhi's batsmen failed to reach double digits with Rishabh Pant (36) being the top scorer.

SRH, IPL 2020
SRH supporters celebrate win over DC during match 47 of season 13 of the Dream 11 (IPL) between the and the held at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai in the United Arab Emirates on

While Rashid was the pick of the bowlers for Sunrisers, Sandeep Sharma (2/27) and T Natarajan (2/26) picked two wickets apiece. Vijay Shankar(1/11), Shahbaz Nadeem (1/8), Holder (1/46) took a wicket each.

Earlier, both openers Warner, who looked in good nick, and Saha, playing his second game of the season, went after the Delhi bowlers from the word go.

Fully capitalising on the field restrictions, the duo smashed boundaries (11 fours and two sixes) every over to collect 77-runs in the first six overs, the best Poweplay figures of the season.

In the sixth over, Warner smashed the tournament's leading wicket-taker Kagiso Rabada (0/54) for four boundaries and a six, helping the Sunrisers reach 100 runs in just 8.4 overs.

Till Warner was taking on the bowlers, Saha played the second fiddle to perfection.

The Australian celebrated his 34th birthday with a half-century off just 25 balls, hitting two sixes and eight fours at the Dubai International Stadium.

To Delhi's relief Ravichandran Ashwin (1/35) broke the 107-run opening stand in the 10th over as he dismissed danger man Warner, who was caught at extra cover by Axar Patel.

With Warner gone, Saha hammered the Capitals bowlers all around the park. The wicketkeeper batsman reached his fifty in style with a boundary. He plundered 12 fours and two sixes before pacer Anrich Nortje (1/37) dismissed him in the 15th over.

Pandey and Kane Williamsion (11 not out) continued the assault on a listless Delhi bowling unit.

IPL 2020: SRH vs DC full scorecard
SRH vs DC playing 11
has not made any changes in its playing 11 while made three changes. Kane Williamson replaced Jonny Bairstow at the top of the batting order. This change forced the management to bring in Wriddhiman Saha as wicket-keeper in place of Priyam Garg while Khaleel Ahmed is replaced by spinner Shahbaz Nadeem. 

DC playing 11: Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tushar Deshpande.

SRH playing 11: David Warner(c), Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan


Auto Refresh