You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Afghanistan A replace Australia A in Proteas triangular series

ANI  |  Johannesburg [South Africa] 

In the wake of A's decision to boycott tour to due to ongoing pay dispute, the Cricket Board (ACB) has accepted Cricket South Africa's (CSA) offer to play the triangular series which also A.

A were slated to play a pair of four-day matches against A as well as a limited-overs tri-series against the Proteas' and India's A-teams.

However, players had opted to boycott the tour after Cricket and Cricket Association (ACA) failed to reach common grounds to resolve the dispute.

Confirming the news about Afghanistan's acceptance, CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat said that they are looking forward to welcome the former to for the very first time.

"We are delighted that have accepted our invitation and look forward to welcoming them to our country for the very first time. were deservedly granted Full Member status at the annual conference last month after showing impressive growth in recent years," Sport24 quoted Lorgat as saying.

"They are a passionate cricket nation and I expect the 'A' team to compete strongly against our 'A' team and 'A' in the upcoming tri-series," he added.

Echoing similar views, chief executive Shafiqullah Stanikzai expressed confidence that the upcoming Tour would provide his side with good exposure to competitive cricket.

"We are very pleased to accept Cricket South Africa's invitation to participate in the upcoming triangular series," Stanikzai said.

"This will be our first-ever visit to and I am certain that this will give Afghansitan 'A' team very good exposure to competitive cricket," he added.

The tri-series is set to begin from July 26, with A now taking on A in the first match in Pretoria.

After the final of the one-day series, 'A' will continue their tour and play two four-day matches against 'A'.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 15:17 IST