You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

60-day long Amarnath yatra to begin on June 28: Shrine board

Press Trust of India  |  Jammu 

The 60-day long annual to the holy cave shrine of in South Himalayas will commence on June 28, the said today. This year's will be longer by 20 days against last year's 40 days. "The Board decided that a 60-day long would commence on June 28, on the auspicious day of Jyestha Purnima, as per Hindu Calendar, and, as per continuing tradition, conclude on Shravan Purnima (Raksha Bandhan) on August 26," a of (SASB) said today. This was decided by and of the SASB, N N Vohra, who presided over the 34th meeting of the held in presided over the meeting of the board to discuss implementation of the directions recently passed by (NGT) in regard to the conduct of Shri Amarnathji and to decide the further course of action. After deliberation, the board decided to file a review against the NGT's directions issued on December 13 and 14, 2017. The NGT on December 13, 2017, had declared the cave shrine in south Himalayas as a "silence zone" and prohibited religious offerings beyond the entry point. However, on December 14, the tribunal clarified that it has not imposed any restriction including on chanting of mantras and singing of bhajans inside the cave shrine, following protests over its decision. The NGT had said the only restriction imposed was that any devotee or any individual should maintain silence while standing in front of the "Ji Maha Shivling", a natural formation in the cave. The board also decided that 7,500 Yatris per day on each of the two routes would be allowed to secure advance registration for the pilgrimage, the said, adding it excludes pligrims who would travel by helicopters. The advance registration of pilgrims will start begin on March 1, he said. The Board reviewed the action plan drawn up for the conduct of 2018, particularly the arrangements which are being made for providing medical care, sanitation facilities and installation of the railings at all vulnerable points along each of the two routes. Board members H H Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, Kapila Vatsyayan, Ved Kumari Ghai, Bhajan Sopori, Vijay Dhar, Sunita Narain, Devi Prasad Shetty, D C Raina, Chander Mouli Raina, its Chief Executive Officer Umang Narula, and other senior officers took part in the meeting.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, January 09 2018. 20:20 IST