You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Jasdan bypoll: BJP's Kunvarji wins; takes its tally in Guj Assembly to 100

Polling for the Jasdan Assembly seat was held on December 20 and a voter turnout of 71.27 per cent was recorded

Press Trust of India  |  Ahmedabad 

Representative image (Photo: Shutterstock)
Representative image (Photo: Shutterstock)

The ruling BJP comfortably won the bypoll from Assembly seat in Sunday, taking its tally in the House to 100.

BJP candidate defeated his nearest rival, nominee Avsar Nakiya, by a margin of 19,979 votes, officials said.

Bavaliya retained the Assembly seat in which he had won as candidate in 2017.

With this, the BJP now has 100 MLAs in the 182-member Legislative Assembly, while the tally has come down to 76. The saffron outfit had won 99 seats in the 2017 assembly polls and the Congress 77.

At the end of the counting of votes, Bavaliya secured a total 90,262 votes as against Nakiya's 70,283, the officials said.

A total 2,146 votes were cast as NOTA, they said.

Polling for the Assembly seat was held on December 20 and a voter turnout of 71.27 per cent was recorded.

The by-poll became a battle of prestige between the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress in the wake of the latter winning the just held assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, and

The by-election was necessitated after Bavaliya, an who had won the seat on a Congress ticket in 2017, resigned from the party and also the assembly, and joined the BJP.

Bavaliya, who quit as an assembly member on July 2, was made a in the BJP government the same day.

As the Congress candidate in 2017, Bavaliya had won over BJP's Bharat Boghara by a margin of 9,277 votes.

First Published: Sun, December 23 2018. 13:05 IST