You are here: Home » Elections » Bihar Elections » News

Bihar Election result LIVE: Victory of development works , says PM Modi

Bihar election result LIVE updates: Nitish Kumar- led NDA is back in power in Bihar with a slender majority. Tejashwi Yadav-led RJD emerged as single largest party with 75 seats

Bihar Elections  | Congress | Narendra Modi

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Bihar election result 2020 Highlights: Defying the exit polls and surmounting anti-incumbency, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal (United), is back in power in Bihar with a slender majority. The ruling coalition won 125 seats in the 243-member state Assembly. The Rashtriya Janata Dal-led Mahagathbandhan clinched 110. The mandate paves the way for a fourth successive term in office for Kumar. Its defeat notwithstanding, the emerged as the single-largest party with 75 seats. The BJP finished second with a tally of 74 seats.
Lok Janshakti Party President Chirag Paswan described the Bihar poll results as a "victory" of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, saying the people had shown their trust in him. Paswan's party managed to win just one seat.
The performance of the Congress, which contested as part of the Mahagathbandhan, was uninspiring. It managed to win just 19 seats, about 25 per cent of the seats allotted to it in the alliance.
From the Opposition, the biggest gainer was the CPI-ML, which clinched 12 seats, followed by the CPI and CPI-M (two each). While the CPI-ML had three seats in the outgoing Assembly, the other two Left parties had no presence in the House..

Stay tuned for Bihar election result 2020 LIVE updates.


Auto Refresh