Jharkhand election result highlights: BJP loses to JMM-Congress, CM resigns

JMM-led alliance, which includes Congress and RJD, on Monday won an absolute majority in the Jharkhand elections by winning 47 seats in 81-member assembly

Jharkhand Assembly Elections | Jharkhand | BJP

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


The JMM-led three-party alliance stormed to power in on Monday, ousting the in yet another state.

Contesting the state assembly elections alone for the first time sans long-standing ally the AJSU Party, the ruling bagged 25 seats, five less than the which led the table, clinching 30 in the 81-member House.

Das tendered his resignation and accepted defeat.

"I met Governor Droupadi Murmu and submitted my resignation. The governor asked me to be caretaker CM till the new government is formed," he told reporters outside Raj Bhavan, with defeat staring him in the face in his pocket borough of Jamshedpur (East) seat.

The BJP, which had posted a spectacular victory in the Lok Sabha election in the middle of the year, was yet to score a convincing triumph in an assembly election since.


Auto Refresh