Assembly elections 2018: Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram record 75% voter turnout

BJP-ruled Madhya Pradesh and Congress-ruled Mizoram vote to decide on new state government. Track Assembly elections 2018 LIVE updates here

Image BS Web Team New Delhi

Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018

The voting for Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram Assembly elections has concluded. Both the States recorded around 75 per cent voting. BJP leader and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Congress leaders Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia were among early voters. Around 1,145 EVMs and 1,545 VVPATs were found to be faulty in Madhya Pradesh and had to be replaced, while three Election Commission's polling officials died from cardiac arrest. The Congress is trying to wrest Madhya Pradesh from the three-term holder Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), while in Mizoram, the BJP is hoping to break the ground and play the kingmaker, if not the king, by supporting regional parties in today's election. The battle of ballots in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram is just months ahead of the Lok Sabha polls slated in the first half of 2019. Results of the Assembly polls 2018 will be declared on December 11.
...Read More

No article available in this category.

Topics :

First Published: Nov 28 2018 | 7:03 AM IST

Explore News