Business Standard

Three recent entrants from Congress given BJP tickets in first list

Congress rebel law maker Umesh Jadhav will take on Congress leader in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge from Gulbarga

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

Amit Shah
Amit Shah | Photo: PTI

Recent entrant and rebel law maker will take on leader in Lok Sabha from as the announced its list of 21 candidates for the two-phased in the state.

Two other new entrants from the A Manju, a former MLA, and his party colleague Devendrappa, both of whom joined the recently, have been rewarded with tickets to contest from and Bellary, respectively.

Fourteen of the 21 candidates announced are sitting members.

The names of the candidates for Karnataka were part of the first list of 184 nominees for announced by senior leader J P Nadda in Delhi Thursday evening.

The state has 28 Lok Sabha seats, of which the BJP had bagged 17, Congress 9 and JDS 2 in the 2014

The BJP had yielded Ballari seat to Congress in the November bypolls.

Jadhav, a former Minister, joined the BJP at a party rally in Kalaburagi on March 6, two days after he quit the Karnataka Assembly membership, at a rally addressed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Jadhav, who was sulking after being dropped as minister, had on March 4 submitted his resignation from the Assembly to Speaker Ramesh Kumar.

However, Jadhav's resignation as MLA has not yet been accepted by the Speaker, who is also yet to decide on the disqualification petitions filed by the Congress, against him.

Manju, joined BJP on Sunday, unhappy with Congress' decision to cede seat to its coalition partner JD(S).

He is likely to fight against former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda's grandson Prajwal Revanna. Gowda is the sitting MP from

Manju was earlier with BJP before joining the Congress and becoming Minister in the previous Siddaramaiah led government and again returning back to the saffron party.

Union Ministers D V Sadananda Gowda from Bangalore North, Ramesh Jigajinagi from Bijapur and Ananth Kumar Hegde from Uttara Kannada, as also B Y Raghavendra, son of former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa from Shimoga, have been renominated.

Other candidates whose names have been announced by the party are, Suresh Angadi (Belgaum), P C Gaddigoudar (Bagalkot), Bhagawanth Kuba (Bidar), Shivkumar Udasi (Haveri), Prahlad Joshi (Dharwad) and Siddeshwara (Davangere); Shobha Karandlaje (Udupi-Ckikmagalur), Nalin Kumar Kateel (Dakshina Kannada), Narayana Swamy (Chitradurga), Basavaraju (Tumkur); Prathap Simha (Mysore), Srinivasa Prasad (Chamarajanagar), PC Mohan (Bangalore central) and Bachche Gowda (Chikkaballapur).

BJP is the first to announce its list of candidates, while the Congress and JD(S) are yet to finalise their list with confusion still prevailing over some constituencies following opposition at the grassroot level over conceding the seats.

Congress workers in Mandya, Tumkur and Hassan are miffed with the party for conceding the seats to JDS.

The Congress and JD(S) that have decided to fight the polls in alliance will contest for 20 and 8 seats, respectively.

Karnataka will go to the polls in two phases, 14 constituencies each, on April 18 and 23.

First Published: Thu, March 21 2019. 22:08 IST