You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

11 CMs face criminal cases, 25 crorepati: Report

ANI  |  New Delhi [India] 

Eleven chief ministers have criminal cases registered against them and 25 are crorepatis, said a report on Monday.

The (ADR) and Election Watch (NEW) released their latest report which says, "Out of the all 31 Chief Ministers analysed from State Assemblies and Union Territories, 11 (35 percent) Chief Ministers have declared criminal cases against themselves."

According to the report; Bihar Nitish Kumar, Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis, Arvind Kejriwal, Raghubar Das, Minister Yogi Adityanath, K.C. Rao, Pinarayi Vijayan, Jammu and Mehbooba Mufti, Narayanasamy, Andhra Pradesh Chandrababu Naidu, have criminal cases registered against them.

Fadnavis tops the list with 22 criminal cases, out of which three are serious criminal cases.

While Vijayan is on the second spot with 11 criminal cases against him, Kejriwal is on third position with 10 criminal cases. However, as far as the serious criminal cases are concerned, Kejriwal is on number one with four cases.

Out of 11 chief ministers, only Chandrababu Naidu, Narayanasamy, and do not have serious criminal cases registered against them.

The serious criminal cases are related to murder, attempt to murder, cheating and dishonestly inducing delivery of property, and criminal intimidation etcetera.

On personal wealth front, 25 chief ministers out of 31 are crorepatis.

is the wealthiest chief minister with declared assets of 177 crore.

is on second spot and Capt is on the third place with assets of Rs 129 crore and 48 crore respectively.

is the poorest among all the chief ministers with assests of 26 lakh only. and Jammu and have second and third lowest assets at 30 lakh and Rs 50 lakh respectively.

The ADR and the NEW prepared the report after analysing the self-sworn affidavits of current Chief Ministers in State Assemblies and Union Territories across the nation.

These are the latest affidavits which were filed by them prior to contesting the elections to the State Assemblies/Union Territories.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, February 12 2018. 20:40 IST