You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Breakers claim 20th Women's National Cricket League title

ANI  |  Cricket 

The New have claimed a remarkable 20th title with a 31-run win over the Fire at

Having set 260 for victory, the had to wait until the eighth over before taking their first wicket, with (2-36) removing (8).

Fellow opener (34) and (17) steadied the ship, but the loss of four middle-order wickets had them 5-102 and facing an uphill battle.

Valuable contributions from (25) and Delissa Kimmince (44) gave the Fire hope, but the again took the ascendancy through (3-39) and (2-37).

An unbeaten 36 from along with handy runs from (10) and Georgia Prestwidge (18) looked to have the Breakers on edge, but Gardner, Carey and Farrell removed the tail to hand the Breakers their 20th title in what was their 23rd straight finals appearance.

After winning the toss and electing to bowl at the start of the day, got off to the perfect start thanks to (1-42) who claimed the key wicket of (0) in the first over.

(79) went about building a total with Ellyse Perry (31), before combining with Carey (50) for a 103-run stand.

Queensland then staged a fightback, first removing Haynes, then Carey and (15) to have the game evenly poised, but late hitting from Gardner (30) helped boost the home side's total to 7-259.

Kimmince (2-52), Jonassen (2-43) and Birkett (2-19), all finished with multiple wickets for Queensland, while (0-23) was also economical with the ball.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, February 09 2019. 14:49 IST