You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

CPI announces candidates for AP Assembly elections

ANI  |  Politics 

The Communist Party of India (CPI) announced candidates for six out of the seven Assembly seats it is contesting on in the upcoming elections in Andhra Pradesh.

The party has fielded Muppalla Nageswar Rao from Mangalagiri Assembly seat opposite TDP's Nara Lokesh, while ML Narayana will be contesting from Kanigiri.

Among other leaders contesting are Dr DVG Sankar Rao from Palakonda, P Kameswar Rao from Srungavarapu Kota, JV Satyanarayana Murty from Visakhapatnam West, and K Ramanjaneyulu from Dhone.

The party will announce candidates for the remaining seats - 1 Assembly and 2 Lok Sabha seats - today.

CPI is in alliance with Jana Sena, CPI (M) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

The BSP will contest on three seats, while CPI and CPM will contest on two Lok Sabha seats each in the state. The rest of the seats will be contested by Jana Sena.

Meanwhile, out of 175 Assembly seats, BSP will contest on 21 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh while CPI and CPM will contest seven Assembly seats each, with the remaining seats going to the Pawan Kalyan-led Jana Sena.

Andhra Pradesh will go to polls in a single phase on April 11. Both the Lok Sabha and legislative assembly polls will be held in the state simultaneously on this day.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, March 19 2019. 04:05 IST