You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Katey Martin returns for Australia ODIs

ANI  |  Cricket 

Wicketkeeper Katey Martin made a comeback as women's team announced a 14-member squad for its upcoming three-match ODI series against Australia, beginning February 22.

The 34-year-old, who missed the home series against due to work commitments, was the highest scorer for her side when toured for T20 series, last year.

Speaking about Martin's comeback, White ferns head said the right-hand batter will bring plenty of experience to the middle order which will prove useful for the side.

"Katey brings plenty of experience to the middle order and is a proven performer at the international level. She also provides plenty of behind the stumps, which not only helps the bowlers but gets the team up," ICC quoted Tiffen, as saying.

Rosemary Mair, who made her T20I debut against India, is also likely to be handed over her maiden ODI cap during the series. "We want to give Rosemary an opportunity. She bowls that hard, heavy length and challenges the batters, so we are looking at what she can offer in the one-day format," Tiffen said.

has not been that successful on the Australian soil but the is confident of her team performing well.

"We talk a lot about partnerships and I predict it is going to be a high-scoring series. For us, it's about working through the ups and downs of ODI - the hunger and desire is there to step up against Aussie in their own backyard," she said.

New Zealand and will play their first ODI on February 22 at the WACA Ground followed by the second and third match on February 24 and March 3, respectively.

Following is the full New Zealand squad for the Australia ODI series:

(c), Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Lauren Down, Maddy Green, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Katey Martin, Katie Perkins, Anna Peterson, Hannah Rowe,

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, February 10 2019. 14:00 IST