Business Standard

KL Rahul reaches sixth position in ICC T20 rankings


ANI Cricket
India's opening batsman KL Rahul has gained four berths to reach the sixth position in the International Cricket Council T20 rankings.
The development came after Rahul played crucial innings of 50 and 47 in the first and second T20 international, respectively of their recently-concluded two-match series against Australia.
Indian skipper Virat Kohli also jumped two places to attain the 17th position in the rankings list after playing knocks of 24 and 72 not out in the series against Australia.
MS Dhoni also experienced a gain of seven places to position himself on number 56 after playing useful innings in both the matches.
Australia's swashbuckling batsman Glenn Maxwell also rose to number three spot in the rankings after playing blistering knocks of 56 and 113 not out in two T20's against India.
Opener D'Arcy Short also entered top 10 batsman rankings with an eight-spot jump to number eight on the rankings list.
Afganistan's Hazratullah Zazai has taken a leap of 31 spots to achieve the seventh spot in ICC T20I rankings. The batsman was in magnificent form in the recently concluded T20 series against Ireland in Dehradun, scoring a knock of 162 runs, that included 11 fours and 16 sixes, in the second T20I of the three-match series.
In the bowlers' ranking, Jasprit Bumrah climbed 12 places to attain the 15th position. Krunal Pandya also saw an 18-spot rise to number 43.
Afganistan's Rashid Khan has kept his hold on the number one ranking after displaying a dominant show against Ireland.
In team rankings, India have retained the second position while Australia have overtaken South Africa and England to reach third place and to within two points of India. Afghanistan and Ireland retain eighth and 17th positions, respectively.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Feb 28 2019 | 5:31 PM IST

Explore News