You are here: Home » News-ANI » International » World
Business Standard

USD 1.5bn announced for African Sahel by EU, France

ANI  |  Nouakchott [Mauritania] 

The (EU) and announced over USD 1.5 billion in for the countries falling in the African region on Thursday to combat armed groups.

The countries falling under the region are Niger, Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, and

The EU's international cooperation and development commissioner, announced that 800 million Euros has been pledged by the bloc at a conference in on December 6.

French Jean-Yves Le Drian, on the other hand, stated that will be investing 500 million Euros in the region, according to Al Jazeera.

A meeting by partners and donors of the G5 Force, a United Nations-backed counterterrorism force, was held here on December 6 to raise funds for the region.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, December 06 2018. 23:15 IST