You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJP's two veterans denied tickets in MP Assembly polls

IANS  |  New Delhi 

A day ahead of the final date of nominations for the Assembly polls, the on Thursday released the final list of candidates with the party deciding to drop two veterans -- and

The party also denied ticket to its for the single phase November 28 Assembly polls.

Earlier in the day the party released the list of 32 candidates. The party then again announced the names for the remaining seven seats.

As per the list, the party has fielded the of Babulal Gaur, Krishna Gaur, from Assembly constituency while Vijayvargiya has been replaced by Usha Thakur, the sitting MLA from Indore-3.

Babulal Gaur, a former Home Minister, was forced to resign on the grounds that his age was over 75. He represented the Assembly constituency since 1980 and had threatened the party that if he or his was not given a ticket, both would contest the polls independently.

Vijayvargiya's son is set to begin his electoral from Indore-3, the constituency represented by Thakur.

Senior Vijayvargiya, a close confidant of BJP Amit Shah, has been more focussed on national especially after the saffron party for the first time formed its government in The party's victory in was credited to Vijayvargiya.

The party also denied ticket to its former PWD He has been replaced by from Seoni-Malwa constituency.

As the saffron party denied ticket to him, he joined The has fielded him from Hoshangabad assembly constituency.

The BJP has fielded Ajit Premchandra Borasi, son of former Ujjain from constituency by denying ticket to its sitting MLA

Besides Gaur, Vijayvargiya and Malviya, the BJP has also dropped its sitting MLAs Narendra Kushwaha from Bhind, Mukesh Singh Chaturvedi from Mehgaon, Ghanshyam Pironia from Bhander and Govind Singh Patel from Gadarwara among others.

Prahlad Singh Lodhi, who had earlier filed nomination as a candidate from Pawai, also figured in the BJP's final list. The party has fielded him from the same constituency. The BJP had earlier fielded Brijendra Singh from Pawai. Singh has now been shifted to Panna assembly constituency.

There are 230 seats in Madhya Pradesh, where the saffron party has been in power for three consecutive terms.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, November 08 2018. 22:10 IST