You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Four legislators of opposition parties suspended in Jharkhand

IANS  |  Ranchi 

Four legislators belonging to two opposition parties in Jharkhand were suspended on Thursday till March 31 for indiscipline in the house.

The four legislators who have been suspended include Amit Mahto, Polush Soren, Shashi Bhushan Samad of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Irfan Ansari of Congress.

The Disciplinary Committee of the Jharkhand assembly moved the proposal regarding the suspensions on Thursday which was passed by voice vote.

Satyendra Nath Tiwari, a BJP legislator and head of the Disciplinary Committee, submitted the report in the house.

Jitu Charan Naik, a BJP legislator, had complained against these legislator regarding a November 23, 2016 incident in the assembly.

The legislators are accused of standing on the reporting table and spraying foam on the speaker when Chief Minister Raghubar Das had tabled amendments in two land acts.

The amendments were passed by voice vote.

The winter session was washed away due to protests over the Raghubar Das government's move to amend two land acts -- Chotanagpur Tenancy Act (CNT) and Santhal Pargana Tenancy Act (SPT).

The amendments were passed by voice vote in the winter session of the state assembly despite stiff opposition from opposition parties. After amendments in both the acts, the agricultural land could be used for non agricultural purposes.

The entire opposition had come to the well of the house on November 23 last to protest the amendments.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, January 19 2017. 18:30 IST