You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Rahul constitutes 23-member CWC, drops some senior leaders

IANS  |  New Delhi 

on Tuesday constituted the Working Committee (CWC) by appointing 23 members and dropping some senior leaders in his bid to strike a balance between age and experience, and prepare for the 2019 polls.

Prominent among those dropped from the previous CWC include Digvijay Singh, Janardan Dwivedi, and

The first CWC to be constituted by Gandhi after his elevation as party in December last also seeks to have balance in terms of regional representation.

The first meeting of the new CWC -- the party's highest decision-making body -- will be held on July 22.

The new faces in the CWC include former ministers (Kerala), Tarun Gogoi (Assam), Siddaramaiah (Karnataka) and (Uttarakhand).

Kumari Selja, party from Durg Tamradhwaj Sahu, former and former Manipur Deputy are the other new faces in the CWC.

Sahu is the only in the from where assembly polls will be held at the end of this year.

Apart from Digvijay Singh, Janardan Dwivedi, and Sushilkumar Shinde, those dropped include Punjab Chief Capt. and former Haryana

was earlier this year appointed chief of the party's unit.

C.P. Joshi, B.K. Hariprasad, Karan Singh, Oscar Fernandes, Mohan Prakash, and have also been dropped.

The new CWC does not include any of the three Congress chief ministers.

(UPA) and former will be the senior members of the new CWC that will form the core team of the party for the state elections this year and the 2019 polls.

The leaders who have been retained include Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ahmed Patel, Mallikarjun Kharge, Ashok Gehlot, Motilal Vora, A.K. Antony, Amika Soni, Anand Sharma, Mukul Wasnik, Avinash Pande, and

There are several young faces in the 18 permanent invitees of the new CWC.

The permanent invitees include former Delhi Sheila Dikshit; Minister P. Chidambaram; party MPs Jyotiraditya Scindia, Gaurav Gogoi, Rajeev Satav, Rajni Patil; former MPs Tariq Hameed Karra, P.L. Punia, P.C. Chacko, R.P.N. Singh, and Ram Chandra Khuntia; and party's communications incharge Randeep Singh Surjewala.

Other permanent invitees include Shaktisinh Gohil, Anugrah Narayan Singh, A. Chella Kumar, and

The special invitees are party leaders K.H. Muniyappa, Arun Yadav, Deepender Hooda, and Kuldeep Bishnoi, and chiefs of party's frontal organisations apart from of the party's student wing (NSUI).

The CWC was announced four months after the (AICC) plenary session in March ratified the election of Gandhi as and authorised him to reconstitute the party's top decision-making body.

Ahead of the plenary, Gandhi had turned the existing CWC into a steering committee.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, July 17 2018. 23:30 IST