You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Rajapaksa's party wins local bodies polls

IANS  |  Colombo 

Sri Lanka's former and his party, the Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), have won a local government election in the island nation after the party won 239 local bodies out of 340, the announced on Monday.

The ruling led by won 41 local government bodies while the ITAK, which represents the minority Tamil population, won 34. The Freedom Party (SLFP), led by Maithripala Sirisena, won 10 local bodies.

Following the government's defeat, Sirisena on Sunday met ministers from the SLFP who are part of the unity government and said he would bring noticeable changes within the coming days, reported.

"The people of the country have voted for a change and I will respond positively to their message and introduce necessary changes accordingly as soon as possible," Sirisena told his cabinet ministers.

Wickremesinghe in a meeting with his UNP ministers also said that the election result was a "wake-up call" for the UNP and he intended to take some drastic decisions to put the government back on track.

Both the said they would continue the unity government till its full term which ends in 2020.

Speaking to reporters in the capital, Rajapaksa said that following his party's victory, they would now work towards developing the grassroots levels in order to gain economic stability.

Over 15 million people cast their votes in the local government election held on Saturday.

Some 8,350 members were elected to 340 councils across the country following Saturday's polls.

The local councils are the third tier of governance in after the Parliament and the Provincial Councils and are primarily responsible for local affairs such as the development of village access roads, garbage collection, and maintenance of

Rajapaksa was defeated by Sirisena in a in January 2015 and later came back as an opposition parliamentarian and formed his own political party,



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, February 12 2018. 18:06 IST