You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Record 72.13% voting in Karnataka Assembly polls

IANS  |  Bengaluru 

A record 72.13 per cent of the over 5.06 crore electorate voted during the assembly elections, the said on Sunday.

"The final voter turnout is 72.13 per cent in 222 constituencies, including 36 reserved for Scheduled Castes and 15 for Scheduled Tribes," said in a statement, a day after the polling on Saturday.

The election in Bengaluru's Raja Rajeshwari (RR) Nagar seat was postponed to May 28 while it was countermanded in Jayanagar segment due to the death of BJP candidate and MLA B.on May 4.

"The highest voting percentage of 89.97 was recorded in Hosakote in district, with the lowest 48.03 per cent in Dasarahalli in Bengaluru Urban."

High voting percentage was also reported from Srinivaspur in district (88.40), Chikaballapur (87.86), Gundlupet in Chamarajnagar (87.50), Aakul in Hassan (87.32).

Four segments with low voting percentage were Bengaluru (48.98), BTM Layout in Bengaluru South (50.09), Sarvagnagar in Bengaluru North (51.19) and Bommanahalli in Bengaluru South (52).

Counting of votes will be taken up on May 15. In RR Nagar, vote count will be on May 31.

As ordered by the Election Commission, repoll will be held on Monday from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. in Lottegollahalli polling station of Bengaluru North's Hebbal segment due to an EVM glitch.

In Chamundeshwari seat in and Badami seat in district which contested, 76.05 per cent and 74.65 per cent votes were polled respectively.

In Varuna in district, where Siddaramaiah's son was in the fray, 78.59 per cent votes were polled.

In Shikaripura in Shivamogga district of Malnad region, where ministerial nominee was a candidate, voting percentage was 81.45.

In Ramangara and Channapatna segments in Ramangara district, where (JD-S) state and former Chief H.D Kumaraswamy was in the fray, 82.55 and 85.86 per cent votes were polled respectively.

The maximum number of segments with lower voting are in Bengaluru where polling was held in 26 of its 28 constituencies, with percentage ranging between 48.03 in Dasarahalli and 60.13 in Yeshwantapura.

BJP's Lok Sabha lawmaker from Ballari, B.R. Sriramaulu, contested Badami and Molakalumu in Chitradurga. In the latter seat, 82.72 per cent votes were cast.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 13 2018. 19:18 IST