You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Singhvi, Ketkar among 10 Congress candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

IANS  |  New Delhi 

The on Sunday announced names of 10 candidates for the biennial elections in seven states, including from and from

approved the list for the the March 23 polls.

Naranbhai Rathwa, who represented Chhota Udaipur Lok Sabha constituency in for the five terms, was nominated along with and prominent lawyer from

Former member was nominated as Congress candidate from He was elected to the Rajya Sabha in June 2009 and was against re-elected in 2010.

The party nominated three candidates from Karnataka, including L. Hanumanthaiah and The party opted for as its third candidate.

The ruling Congress in can easily win two seats and meets few extra votes for the third seat.

Former and Congress will contest from Five Rajya Sabha members from are completing their terms in April 2018. Congress Satyavrat Chaturvedi, who is among the five retiring members, could not make to the list.

Ketkar has been nominated from and Porika Balram Naik from Telangana.

The party has nominated from Elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats has been necessiated as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the Trinamool Congress and Tapan Sen of will end on April 2.

The TMC has already its four candidats and its leader has openly said her party would support Singhvi in the Rajya Sabha polls.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, March 11 2018. 23:12 IST