Business Standard

Bypoll results: BJP snatches 2 SP seats in UP, AAP's shock loss in Punjab

Akhilesh Yadav, rankled by the defeat, lashed out at the BJP and accused it of murdering democracy

Representative Image

The Congress won a seat each in Tripura and Jharkhand, while the ruling YSR Congress emerged victorious in Atmakuru Assembly seat in Andhra Pradesh

Press Trust of India New Delhi
The BJP wrested high-profile Rampur and Azamgarh Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh from the Samajwadi Party and won three assembly seats, including that of Chief Minister Manik Saha, in Tripura in by-election results announced on Sunday.

While the AAP lost Punjab’s Sangrur parliamentary constituency, vacated by Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann, to Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar), it was able to retain Rajinder Nagar assembly seat in Delhi that party leader Raghav Chadha had given up after he was elected to Rajya Sabha.

In Uttar Pradesh, the opposition Samajwadi Party suffered a major setback as it lost to the BJP in

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jun 27 2022 | 12:40 AM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to