You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

36 file nominations in Delhi on Thursday for LS polls

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Thirty-six candidates filed their nominations on Thursday, taking the total tally to 48 for the Lok Sabha polls in Delhi scheduled for May 12.

Twelve candidates, including 10 from unrecognised parties, filed their nominations on April 16.

Nomination filing will not happen on April 19, on account of it being Good Friday, a gazetted holiday.

AAP's West Delhi candidate Balbir Singh Jakhar's affidavit was found to be incomplete by the district election officer Thursday, which issued him a notice.

A candidate from Rashtriya Samrasta Party filed his nomination from northwest Delhi parliamentary constituency.

Three candidates, including one from little known Republican Party Of India and an Independent filed their nominations for the Chandni Chowk parliamentary constituency.

Six candidates filed their nominations from the south Delhi parliamentary constituency, including a candidate from little known outfits Sanatan Sanskriti Raksha Dal, Proutist Bloc, India and two Independents.

Eight nominations were filed in West Delhi, including two candidates from the Aam Aadmi Party.

"AAP candidate Balbir Singh Jakhar filed two affidavits, both of which were found incomplete and notices were issued on them while Vikram Singh Jakhar has been fielded as a dummy candidate from the seat by the party," a poll official said.

Four candidates filed their nominations in New Delhi, including candidate from Pyramid Party Of India and an Independent.

Six candidates filed their nominations from the East Delhi parliamentary constituency, including a candidate from Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party, Pyramid Party Of India and two independent candidates.

Eight nominations were filed from northeast Delhi with Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Rajveer Singh filing two affidavits.

"Sometimes we get multiple affidavits from a candidate, who file them to ensure that if there are any technical shortcomings in one, the other affidavits can be considered for nomination. But we count each of the affidavits separately," a senior poll official of northeast district said.

Delhi, which has seven parliamentary constituencies, will vote on May 12 and the overall results will be declared on May 23.

The seven constituencies are -- New Delhi, South Delhi, West Delhi, East Delhi, North East Delhi, North West Delhi and Chandni Chowk.

The last date for filing nominations is April 23 and scrutiny of nominations would be on April 24, while the date for withdrawing of nominations is April 26.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 18 2019. 22:45 IST