You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

After SP backing, BSP nominee files papers for UP Legislative Council polls

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

A day after the decided to extend support to the BSP in the biennial Legislative Council polls, B R Ambedkar of filed his nomination papers here today.

Accompanied by senior BSP leaders, including its national S C Misra, Ambedkar filed two sets of papers, returning in the told

Ambedkar's is the only nomination paper filed so far for the polls to 13 seats of the Legislative Council, he said.

Filing of nomination will continue till April 16 and scrutiny will be done the next day. The last date of withdrawal of nomination paper is April 19. The election will be held on April 26 and counting of votes will take place the same day.

Ambedkar had contested the Rajya Sabha polls as a joint opposition candidate of the BSP-SP last month, but lost to the BJP's in second preferential vote.

Today, Misra exuded confidence that his party's candidate will make it to the of the with the support of the

In a move signalling further consolidation of the new found friendship, the yesterday said it will extend support to the BSP on one seat of the Legislative Council.

The SP-BSP combine struck gold in the 'saffron' bastion of Gorakhpur, associated with Chief Yogi Adityanath, and Phulpur, earlier represented by his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya, in the recent bypolls to these two seats. With the BSP's support, the SP wrested the two seats from the BJP.

To ensure victory in the of the state legislature, a candidate needs 29 first preference votes. Arithmetically, the BJP and its allies are likely to win 11 out of 13 seats comfortably and will still be left with five additional votes. Opposition parties can get two seats.

In the 100-member UP Legislative Council, the BJP has just 13 members. The Samajwadi Party has 61 members, the BSP nine, the two, the RLD one and others 12. Two seats are vacant.

The tenures of 13 MLCs, including SP national and two ministers in the government -- and -- will end on May 5.

Of the 13 seats falling vacant, seven were held by the SP, two each by the BJP and the BSP, and one by the RLD. The thirteenth seat was held by former SP His seat fell vacant when he switched over from the SP to the BSP.

Apart from the Samajwadi Party president, six other MLCs from the party whose term is coming to an end are Naresh Chandra Uttam, Rajendra Chaudhary, Umar Ali Khan, Madhu Gupta, and

MLCs from other parties whose term ends on May 5 are and (both BSP) and Chaudhary Mushtaq -- the lone RLD member.

Though the BJP and its allies have 324 MLAs in the 403-member state Assembly, it may not get the required strength in the to get the bills passed even after winning 11 of the 13 seats by dint of its strength.

During the winter session of the last year, the had suffered embarrassment, when it failed to ensure the passage of the Control of Organised Crime (UPCOC) Bill in the Legislative Council.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 12 2018. 17:35 IST