You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Arjun scores double in 3rd round of national racing event


Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Coimbatore's Arjun Narendran of Arka Motorsports underlined his superiority by scoring a double in the premier Indian Touring Cars category in the third round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship concluded at the MMRT track near here today.

Meanwhile, Goutham Parekh and Raghul Rangasamy split the two races in the MRF F1600 class.

Narendran was off a great start from fourth position on the reverse grid as he made three places in the very first lap with bold overtaking to get his nose in front.

Behind him, Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) took a while to move from third to second by which time, Narendran had opened up a sizeable lead.

Balu finally worked his way into second spot, but after three laps, going into the Bridge Complex "S," the engine blew forcing him to retire.

It left Narendran all alone in the front as he crossed the finish line well ahead of team-mates Ashish Ramaswamy and N Leelakrishnan.

The second-place finish fetched Ramaswamy 18 more points that helped him maintain his championship lead with 101 points.

With the championship winner in the MRF F1600 eligible for the Mazda Road To Indy shootout in the United States later this year, there was considerable jockeying for points.

At the end of the triple-header this weekend, 19-year old Arjun Datta maintained his overall lead with 96 points after two rounds, ahead of Rangasamy (84), Parekh (68) and Sandeep Kumar (67).

With two more rounds and six races to be run in the coming weeks, the championship is wide open.

The first race in the MRF F1600 was a stop-go affair due to two stoppages following collisions and was reduced to a total of five laps.

Chennai-based Parekh, first runner-up in 2015 season before taking a two-year break, started fourth on the reverse grid and moved to the front with Sandeep Kumar and Nabil Hussain in close attendance.

The order remained unchanged as they crossed the finish line.

In contrast, the second MRF F1600 race ran its course of eight laps without incidents as 25-year old Rangasamy, starting from pole position, gradually pulled away from Parekh while behind them, Datta managed to hold off Sandeep Kumar to complete the podium.

Also achieving a double this weekend were Bengalurus Varun Anekar of Race Concepts (Super Stock), Vinod Subramaniam from Erode (Performance Racing) in the Esteem Cup and Goanese Chrys D'Souza (Unikek Racing) in the Indian Junior Touring Cars category.

The two Volkswagen Ameo Cup races saw Ghaziabad's Jeet Jhabakh and championship leader Dhruv Mohite from Kolhapur taking the honours, both surviving close competition.

The results (Provisional all 8 laps unless mentioned): MRF F1600 (Race 2, 5 laps):

The results (Provisional all 8 laps unless mentioned): MRF F1600 (Race 2, 5 laps): 1. Goutham Parekh (Chennai) (10mins, 35.884secs); 2. Sandeep Kumar (Chennai) (10:37.360); 3. Nabil Hussain (Chennai) (10:40.124).

Race 3: 1. Raghul Rangasamy (Mamallapuram) (13:37.431); 2. Goutham Parekh (Chennai)(13:39.405); 3. Ashwin Datta (Chenna) (13:41.178).

Indian Touring Cars (Race 2): 1. Arjun Narendran (15:19.822); 2. Ashish Ramaswamy (15:36.340); 3. N Leelakrishnan (15:43.649) (all Arka Motorsports).

Super Stock (Race 2): 1. Varun Anekar (Race Concepts) (15:56.865); 2. RP Rajarajan (Performance Racing) (16:27.612); 3. Prateek Benya (Race Concepts) (16:46.478).

Indian Junior Touring Cars (Race 2): 1. Chrys DSouza (Unimek Racing) (16:59.758); 2. Nikunj Wagh (Team N1) (17:11.890); 3. Prabhu AS (Arka Motorsports) (17:29.380).

Esteem Cup (Race 2): 1. Vinod Subramaniam (Team N1) (16:45.670); 2. Raghul Rangasamy (Performance Racing) (16:54.011).

Turbo (Support race): 1. Karthik Tharani (Chennai) (15:36.003); 2. Rayomand Banajee (Mumbai) (15:47.296); 3. Ishaan Dodhiwala (Hyderabad) (15:52.239).

Volkswagen Ameo Cup (Race 2, 7 laps): 1. Jeet Jhabakh (Hyderabad) (13:52.343); 2. Anmol Singh Sahil (Ghaziabad) (13:54.899); 3. Saurav Bandyopadhyay (Thane) (13:58.911).

Race 3: 1. Dhruv Mohite (Kohlapur)(18:13.727); 2. Jeet Jhabakh (Hyderabad) (18:17.603); 3. Amol Singh Sahil (Gaziabad) (18:18:068).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Sun, July 22 2018. 19:50 IST