You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Ashwin Datta, Balu notch up impressive wins


Press Trust of India  |  Coimbatore 

Teenager Ashwin Datta and Arjun Balu came up with impressive performances in the MRF F1600 and Indian Touring Cars categories respectively in the the second round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship at the Kari Motor Speedway here today.

Bengaluru's Varun Anekar (Race Concepts) in the Super Stock class, Goa's Chris D'Souza (Unimek Racing) in Indian Junior Touring Cars and Erode driver Vinod S (Team N1) in the Esteem Cup also notched up wins.

The trio emerged unscathed from an incident-filled race of combined 16-car grid that witnessed two safety car periods.

The two Formula LGB 1300 races saw close competition with Bengaluru's Sohil Shah (MSport) winning the first after a close fight with team-mate Nabil Hussain of Chennai while Ashwin Datta took the second race that witnessed a couple of crashes.

Datta, 19, drove brilliantly after dropping from second to fourth and overtook three cars to jump to the front and eventually win the race.

In sharp contrast, Datta earlier enjoyed an untroubled ride to victory in the first of the three MRF F1600 races scheduled for the weekend.

Meanwhile, Kolhapur's Dhruv Mohite put in a command performance to win the Volkswagen Ameo Cup race, initially losing track position after starting from pole.

For 43-year old Balu from Coimbatore, it was a comfortable lights-to-flag victory. Starting from pole position, he gradually built up a sizeable lead with Ashish Ramaswamy (ARKA Motorsports) and veteran Vidyaprakash (Prime Racing) in tow.

Results (Provisional, all 15 laps unless mentioned): MRF F1600 (Race 1): 1. Ashwin Datta (Chennai) (15mins, 52. 195secs), 2. Raghul Rangasamy (Mamallapuram) (15:59.749), 3. Nirmal Umashanker (Chennai) (16:03. 412).

Indian Touring Cars (Race 1): 1. Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) (16:38.541), 2. D Vidya Prakash (Prime Racing) (16:46.128), 3. B Vijay Kumar (Prime Racing) (16:47.238).

Super Stock (Race 1): 1. Varun Anekar (Race Concepts) (22:43.

752), 2. Deepak Ravikumar (Infinite Piston) (22:45. 806), 3. K Srinivas Teja (Performance Racing) (22:48.777).

Indian Junior Touring Cars (Race 1): 1. Chris D'Souza (Unimek Racing) (22:54.799), 2. Prabhu AS (ARKA Motorsports) (22:57.507), 3. Nikunj Vagh (Team N1) (23:01.287).

Esteem Cup (Race 1): 1. Vinod S (Team N1) (22:50.081). Only one finisher.

Formula LGB 1300 (Race 1): 1. Sohil Shah (MSport) (19:20.665), 2. Nabil Hussain (MSport) (19:21.179), 3. A Balaprasath (DTS Racing) (19:22.636). Race 2: 1. Ashwin Datta (17:32.137), 2. Rupesh Sivakumar (MSport) (17:51.678), 3. Nabil Hussain (17:55.093).

Volkswagen Ameo Cup (Race 1): 1. Dhruv Mohite (Kohlapur) (17:44.976), 2. Jeet Jhabakh (Hyderabad) (17:49. 205), 3. Saurav Bandyopadhyay (Thane) (17:54.758).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Sat, June 23 2018. 20:00 IST