You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Arunachal Speaker accepts switching over of 7 PPA MLAs to NPP

Press Trust of India  |  Itanagar 

The Legislative Assembly today accepted switching over of seven MLAs of the People's Party of Arunachal (PPA) to the (NPP).

T Norbu Thongdok accepted the joining of the MLAs to NPP as required under Rule 4 of the members of Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 1987 and issued a notification regarding it.

Out of nine members in the 60-member House, seven changed their allegiance to the NPP on July 16 this year.

With the switching over of the MLAs, the NPP will now have party representatives in the Assembly for the first time.

With the development, the ruling now has 48 MLAs in the Assembly, the NPP has 7, the has 2, the 1 and there are 2 independent members.

The two independents are associate members of the ruling government while the NPP is a constituent member of BJP-led North East (NEDA) in the North East.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, July 27 2018. 19:50 IST