You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Ashwin to lead TN in Syed Mustaq Ali T20 tourney, Murali Vijay

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

India Test spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will lead in the Syed Musthaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament to be held at from February 21 to March 2.

Opener doesn't find a place in the squad announced Thursday.

Young all-rounder M S is back in the team after missing action for a while following an during the limited-overs leg of the tour, a TNCA press note said.

He has been named vice-of the squad.

All-rounder Vijay Shankar, who is currently with the Indian team playing in the T20 series in after making his ODI debut in Australia, has been picked in the 16-man squad.

Murali Vijay, who was dropped after failing to shine in the first two Tests in the series Down Under, had featured in a Association I Division league match on Wednesday.

B Indrajith, the of the side has been named while his twin brother B Aparajith doesn't feature in the team.

The squad also includes C Hari Nishaanth, who did well in the last year apart from R Vivek, who came to the fore with his big hitting.

Leg-spinner M Ashwin joins Sai Kishore and the R Ashwin in the department.

Tamil Nadu opens its campaign against on February 21.

Squad: R Ashwin (captain), M S (vice-captain), N Jagadeesan (wk), C Hari Nishaanth, M Shahrukh Khan, B Indrajith, R Vivek, T Natarajan, M Mohammed, J Kousik, R Sai Kishore, M Ashwin, N S Chaturved, Vijay Shankar, Athisayaraj Davidson, Abhisek Tanwar.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, February 07 2019. 21:50 IST