You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Bengaluru schoolboy shines in national racing meet


Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Bengaluru schoolboy Yash Aradhya stole the show, winning his maiden race in the MRF F1600 class in the fourth round of the MRF-MMSC FMSCI National Racing Championship near here today.

Aradhya, who celebrated his 17th birthday recently, started the third race from third position on the grid, but within two laps, hit the front, getting past pole-sitter Goutham Parekh and Sandeep Kumar before defending his position to score a memorable win.

Earlier, Parekh comfortably won second race of the class.

After the weekend's triple-header, Raghul Rangasamy with a win in the first race yesterday leads the MRF F1600 championship with 134 points, ahead of Parekh (129), Ashwin Datta (110) and Sandeep Kumar (109).

The winner of the championship will earn a ticket to the Mazda Road To Indy Shootout in the United States later this year.

The second race of the Indian Touring Cars class saw another tight battle between last year's champion Arjun Narendran (Arka Motorsports) and Arjun Balu (Race Concepts).

The two Coimbatore drivers were locked in a close fight with Narendran, who had finished second behind Balu in yesterday's first race, managing to exact revenge, but not before the two came together twice in the eight-lap race.

Balu, who led initially after starting from pole position, ran wide after a contact with Narendran who then survived another brush towards the end of the race.

With two more races remaining in the final round of the championship next month, Bengaluru's Ashish Ramaswamy (Arka Motorsports) continues to lead with 131 points following two podium finishes this weekend while Balu is placed second on 111.

Bengaluru's 27-year old Varun Anekar completed a double in the Super Stock category of saloon cars to lead the championship in this category with five wins in six starts.

Results (Provisional, all 8 laps unless mentioned):

MRF F1600 (Race-2, 7 laps):

1. Goutham Parekh (Chennai) (11mins, 55.958secs);

2.Sandeep Kumar (Chennai) (11:59.036);

3. Arya Singh (Kolkata) (11:59.807).


1. Yash Aradhya (Bengaluru) (13:38.672);

2. Goutham Parekh (13:39.045);

3. Raghul Rangasamy (Chennai) (13:39.335).

Indian Touring Cars (Race-2):

1. Arjun Narendran (15:18.697);

2. Arjun Balu (15:18.972);

3. Ashish Ramaswamy (Arka Motorsports) (15:27.011).

Turbo (Race-2):

1. Karthik Tharani (VW Motorsport)(15:26.584);

2. Rayomand Banajee (VW Motorsport)(15:40.368);

3.Ishaan Dodhiwala (VW Motorsport) (15:48.720).

Super Stock (Race-2):

1. Varun Anekar (Race Concepts) (15:47.827);

2.Srinivas Teja (Performance Racing) (16:25.497);

3. RP Rajarajan (Performance Racing) (16:25.743).

Indian Junior Touring Cars (Race-2):

1. Nikunj Vagh (Team N1) (16:46.717).

2. Chris Desouza (Unimek Racing ) (16:59.674);

3. Prabu AS (Arka Motorsports) (17:22.050).

Esteem Cup (Race-2):

1. Biren Pithawala (Team N1) (16:45.958);

2. Raghul Rangasamy (Performance Racing) (16:56.231);

3. R Shyam (Prime Racing) (17:22.349).

Volkswagen Ameo Cup (Race-2):

1. Shubhomoy Ball (Bengaluru) (15:40.496);

2. Affan Sadat Safwan Islam (Chittagong)(15:41.536);

3. Dhruv Mohite (Kolhapur) (15:41.784).


1. Dhruv Mohite (15:38.206);

2. Saurav Bandyopadhyay (Mumbai) (15:45.963);

3. Shubhomoy Ball (15:48.007).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Sun, August 19 2018. 17:55 IST