You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Raghul Rangasamy, Arjun Balu post victories

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Pole sitter secured a commanding victory to head the leaderboard in the F1600 class in the fourth round of the MMSC FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship at the MMRT track at near here today.

Apart from the 25-year-old Rangasamy, Coimbatores (Race Concepts) also stole the spotlight winning a thrilling race in the high-end Indian Touring Cars class.

His team-mate Varun Anekar from Bengaluru, who started ninth and from the pit-lane, finished first in the Super Stock category.

The Formula LGB 1300 double-header produced two different winners in Chennai's (Momentum Motorsports) and Sohil Shah (M Sport) from Bengaluru.

The results put Shah at the top of the championship standings in the class with 126 points to Dattas 123 with the third title contender (M Sport), also from Chennai, on 117, going into the final round next month.

Rangasamy of Mamallapuram moved past championship leader who finished a distant eighth.

Ahead of the two races to be run tomorrow, Rangasamy has 109 points to Dattas 100.

The championship winner at the end of the season, earns a ticket to the Road To Indy shootout in the this winter.

took a lights to chequered flag win to move to second on the leaderboard with 93 points while Narendran, who missed two rounds, is on 68 while Bengalurus (Arka Motorsport) who finished third, continues to lead with 116 points, going into tomorrows Race-2.

from Kolhapur notched his fourth win in six starts in the Ameo Cup race ahead of Saurav Bandyopadhyay (Mumbai) and (Hyderabad).

Results (Provisional, all 8 laps unless mentioned): F1600 (Race-1): 1.

(Mamallapuram) (13mins,36.906secs); 2. (13:39.058); 3. Nirmal Uma Shanker (13:43.654).

Formula LGB 1300 (Race-1): S (Momentum Motorsport) (15:20.086); 2.Sohil Shah (M Sport) (15:21.981); 3.(DTS Racing) (15:29.673).

Race-2: 1. Sohil Shah (M Sport) (17:33.648); 2. A Balaprasath (DTS Racing) (17:34.089); 3. S Ashwin Datta (Momentum Motorsports) (17:34.455).

Indian Touring Cars (Race-1): (Race Concepts) (15:13.033); 2. (Arka Motorsport) (15:13.987); 3. (Arka Motorsport) (15:27.015).

Turbo (Race-1): 1. (Chennai) (15:23.854); 2. (Mumbai) (15:38.143); 3. (15:39.252)

Super Stock (Race-1): 1. Varun Anekar (Race Concepts) (16:14.596); 2. (Infinite Piston) (16:27.106); 3.(Performance Racing) (16:44.359).

Indian Junior Touring Cars (Race-1): 1 Prabhu AS (Arka Motorspor) (17:06.590); 2. Nikunj Vagh (Team N1) (17:18.579); 3. (Unimek Racing) (17:29.153).

Esteem Cup (Race-1): 1. (Performance Racing) (16:51.582); 2. Vinod Subramaniam (Team N1) (17:01.644); 3. Biren PIthawalla (Team N1) (17:01.645);

Ameo Cup (Race-1): 1. (Kolhapur) (15:38.719); 2. (15:43.499); 3. (Hyderabad) (15:43.879).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, August 18 2018. 18:05 IST