You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJD's Singh and Singhdeo elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

Former Ministers and the ruling BJD candidates- A U Singhdeo and Bhupinder Singh- were today declared elected to the from

"Both Singhdeo and Singh have been declared elected as no other candidate filed their papers for the elections," A K Sarangi, Returning Officer and Secretary of the Assembly, told reporters here, adding that there was no need for polling.

Today was the last date for withdrawal of nomination.

The by-elections for the two seats were required in view of the resignation of Rabinarayan Mohapatra and Sashi Bhusan Behera from their membership of the Upper House of the Parliament, Sarangi said.

Both Mohapatra and Behera resigned from the after they were elected to the State Assembly.

While Bhupinder Singh has been elected in place of Behera whose Rajya Sabha tenure was scheduled to end in 2016, Singh got the Rajya Sabha berth till 2018 in place of Mohapatra.

With the of Singh and Singhdeo, the strength of BJD in the Rajya Sabha has gone up to seven.

First Published: Thu, June 26 2014. 22:07 IST