You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Campaign ends for second phase polling in Bihar

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

Campaign ended on Tuesday for five seats in where polling will be held on April 18 in the second phase of

The five constituencies are Bhagalpur, Banka, Katihar, Kishanganj and Purnea.

The BJP had fought these five seats unsuccessfully in 2014 and this time its ally JD(U) of Chief Nitish Kumar is contesting from those constituencies.

Both the BJP and the JD() are contesting 17 out of the 40 seats in the state. Nominees of NDA ally LJP are in the fray in the remaining six constituencies.

and held rallies at Bhagalpur and Katihar respectively.

Rallies were also held by Rajnath Singh at Banka and Purnea, while the Congress' campaign had a dash of glamour with former and holding a number of election meetings in Kishanganj and Katihar constituencies, which have a sizeable Muslim population.

Kishanganj was also visited by fiery whose party has fielded a candidate from the constituency.

minister Tariq Anwar, who had won Katihar on an NCP ticket five years ago, is contesting as a nominee this time. The also holds the Kishanganj seat though the incumbent MP died last year and the party has fielded local MLA

In Katihar, the JD(U) candidate is Dulal Chandra Goswami while it is in Kishanganj.

In Bhagalpur, sitting Shailesh Kumar alias Bulo Mandal seeks to retain the seat and the main challenge has come from JD(U)'s

In Banka, which is held by the RJD, Jayaprakash seeks to retain his seat in a three-cornered contest wherein the other principal challengers are JD(U)s Giridhari Yadav and Independent candidate

had won the seat in 2010 as an Independent in a by-poll necessitated by the death of her husband Digvijaya Singh, a multiple term MP and a minister. She lost in 2014 when she fought as a BJP candidate and her nomination in favour of the JD(U) nominee has resulted in her expulsion from the party.

In Purnea, sitting JD(U) MP is again in the fray while who won the seat on a BJP ticket in 2009 but lost the seat five years later is the Congress candidate this time.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 16 2019. 18:31 IST