You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Congress dissidence: Jarkiholi eyes getting his men into cabinet

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

Satish Jarkiholi, who is peeved over not being made a minister, today said he would not accept any offer from his party leaders, but would

fight for ministerial berths for able loyal leaders.

"I will not accept any offer. I will work for the party as a I do not have a single-point programme of becoming a Even in the past, I have worked, not in the garb of minister," Jarkiholi told

The cabinet expansion had caused heartburns to both and (S) MLA's who did not find a berth.

Jarkiholi, who was a ministerial aspirant but was deprived of a slot, also said he would not quit the party.

"I will not quit the party, but will fight from within. I want our men, who are able leaders loyal to the party for many years, to get ministerial berths," he said.

Asked why he shouldn't be getting a ministerial berth after working for former Siddaramaiah's electoral victory in Badami, Jarkiholi said, "That is correct, but nothing can be done about it. Party is not interested, so what we can do."

The statement comes after state M B Patil, another disgruntled MLA, held inconclusive talks with Congress on the issue in on Saturday.

After the meeting, Patil had said he had no plans to quit Congress and was not keen on accepting KPCC President's post.

Patil, who had campaigned for a minority status for Lingayats, is a prominent state Congress

Under his leadership, a section of dissatisfied legislators have held several meetings last week.

Asked whom he would be pushing for ministerial berths, Jarkiholi said, "I cannot respond to this immediately. Let us see whether they would do it after two or three years. They have not told us clearly on this line. They could accommodate in next phase. They can also do it now. We are waiting."

Jarkiholi said the criteria adopted by party to allot berths to MLAs is still a mystery for him.

The JDS-Congress cabinet was expanded on June 6 with the induction of 25 new ministers.

The Congress has left six vacancies to be filled under its quota and the JDS, one.

Several state leaders including Patil, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Ramalinga Reddy, R Roshan Baig, HK Patil, Tanvir Sait, Shamanur Sivashankarappa and, Satish Jarkhiholi, did not get ministerial berths.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, June 11 2018. 16:30 IST