Business Standard

Congress retains Mungaoli Assembly seat in MP


Press Trust of India Bhopal
Opposition Congress today retained the Mungaoli Assembly seat in a by-poll in Madhya Pradesh, with its candidate Brajendra Singh Yadav beating his BJP rival by a margin of 2,124 votes, a poll official said.

Brajendra Singh Yadav got 70,808 votes while the BJP candidate, Baisahab Yadav, bagged 68,684, the official said.

Counting of votes began in the morning with the BJP leading in the first round. However, the Congress candidate surged ahead from second round onwards and maintained the lead till the seventh round.

Baisahab Yadav again caught up and left his opponent behind between the 12 to 15th rounds.

In the last round, the Congress managed to gain a lead again, retaining the seat.

Notably, the Congress had won the seat by a margin of 20,765 votes in the previous election.

The bypoll, held on February 24, was necessitated due to the death of Congress's MLA Mahendra Singh Kalukheda.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Feb 28 2018 | 7:20 PM IST

Explore News