You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Decision to forego RS seat to KC-M flayed at Congress meeting

Press Trust of India  |  Thiruvananthapuram 

Strong resentment among leaders in over the party's decision to forego its seat in favour of the KC(M) had its echo in the party's political affairs committee meeting here today.

Deputy Chairman P J Kurien and former KPCC V M Sudheeran maintained that the decision lacked transparency, party sources said.

They targeted Oommen Chandy, Opposition in the state assembly and KPCC M M Hassan, believed to be mainly responsible for the party's decision to forego the lone RS seat in favour of (M) as a condition for its return to the Front after it snapped ties two years ago.

Chennithala explained the circumstances that led to the decision and said it was taken with a view to strengthen UDF and also to have a larger platform of secular and democratic forces to take on BJP at the Centre and LDF in the state.

A former KPCC chief,Chennithala said decisions on matters like this in future would be taken after discussions in party fora such as the political affairs committee,the sources said.

Chandy was not present as he had to leave for Andhra Pradesh as part of a scheduled programme, they said.

He was in charge of party affairs of

The sources said the meeting also asked all workers not to make statements in public or through social media, on party matters as that would adversely affect the image of the party.

A section of Congress leaders in were shocked over the decision as it was widely expected that the party would put up its own candidate for the seat, now held by Kurien.

However, in an unexpected move, as part of UDF formula, the RS seat was offered to KC(M), paving the way for its return to the front on June 7.

Meanwhile, KC(M) candidate filed his papers as the UDF opposition nominee for the June 21 biennial RS election from the state.

Chandy, Chennithala and IUML M K Muneer accompanied Mani when he filed his papers before Legislature Secretary V K Babu Prakash.

Mani, son of KC-M supremo K M Mani, is currently the lone Kerala Congress(M) member in the Lok Sabha.

CPI(M) and filed their papers for the RS polls as candidates of the ruling CPI(M) led LDF.

Pinarayi Vijayan, LDF Convener A Vijayaraghan and were among those present when they filed the papers.

Three seats from Kerala will fall vacant on July 1 with the retirement of Kurien, C P Narayanan of CPI(M) and of the

Of these, the ruling LDF is in a position to win two and the UDF, one.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, June 11 2018. 21:10 IST