You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Election in 10 Tripura municipalities will be held on Dec 22

Press Trust of India  |  Agartala 

The State Election Commission (SEC) Friday announced that elections in 10 municipalities will be held on December 22.

Along with the election to the 10 municipalities, by-elections will also be held for vacant seats in five other urban local bodies including the Agartala Municipal Corporation on December 22, it said.

State Election Commissioner, G told a press conference here that "the has dissolved 10 municipalities due to certain grounds by issuing a gazette notification. Apart from this, there are also other casual vacancies in five municipal bodies which were caused due to resignation and other reasons."

Ballot papers would be used in the and by-elections instead of EVMs as the Election Commission of has declined to give Electronic Voting Machines for the polls, he said.

The notification for the election to the 10 municipalities and by-polls in five urban local bodies would be issued by the State Election Commission on November 26, Rao said.

The SEC said the last date of filing nomination is December 4, the date for scrutiny of nomination is on December 5 and the withdrawal is on December 7.

The counting of votes would be held on December 26, he said.

The SEC said a series of of meetings were held with different political parties and police officials before announcing the dates of the poll process.

of Police said all necessary arrangements are being done to provide proper security during the

at present has 20 urban local bodies.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, November 23 2018. 21:00 IST