You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Film academy honors 19 student filmmakers

AP  |  Beverly Hills 

Nineteen student filmmakers got the opportunity to "thank the academy" at the actual Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Thursday night.

The winners of the 45th are eligible to compete for a in the animated short, live action short and documentary short categories.

They join an esteemed list of Award alumni like Pete Docter, Cary Fukunaga, Spike Lee, Trey Parker, and

During the presentation in the storied theater, presenters like "The Big Sick" star and and "Twilight" introduced a fascinating array of short films ranging in subject from an animated raccoon trying to handle a flashlight somewhat clumsily to a teenage girl who showcases a suicide confessional in her high school class and a documentary about dust.

Seven hundred academy members sifted through 1,582 entries from 400 schools (278 domestic and 122 international) to arrive at the final winners, who hail from locations including China, India, Switzerland, and

Categories recognized include narrative, documentary, animated and alternative productions by American and international college students.

Winners were given a few minutes onstage at the storied Theater, flanked by two larger-than-life statuettes to accept the award and give a speech, thanking the academy, partners, and moms and dads.

"My mom gave me so many children's books for me to read," said Hanna Kim, who won the gold medal for for her short "" ''Those books ended up being my main inspiration and reason for making this film."

Not all the winners were young adults. Mart Bira, who won the gold award for international documentary, noted that at 45, she is "the same age as the "

Bira, who directed the short "Nomadic Doctor," said she was the first Mongolian filmmaker to receive the award, for which she was "truly honored."

The is a tradition dating back to 1972 to help spotlight emerging global talent in the entertainment industry. This past year, two winners went on to get nominations for his live action short "My Nephew Emmett" and for "" ___

The 2018 Award winners: "Reanimated," Shae Demandt, "Daisy," Yu Yu, University of "Raccoon and the Light," Hanna Kim, Institute of the Arts "Re-Gifted," Eaza Shukla, and Design "The Green Bird," Pierre Perveyrie, Maximilien Bougeois, Marine Goalard, and Quentin Dubois, MOPA "An Edited Life," Mathieu Faure, "Dust Rising," Lauren Schwartzman, University of California, "Love & Loss," Yiying Li, University of "Nomadic Doctor," Mart Bira, "Esta Es Tu Cuba"/ "This Is Your Cuba," Brian Robau, "Lalo's House," Kelley Kali, University of "Spring Flower," Hua Tong, "A Siege," Istvan Kovacs, and Film Arts, "Almost Everything," Lisa Gertsch, Zurich "Get Ready with Me," Jonatan Etzler,

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, October 13 2018. 00:30 IST