You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Goswami, Singh shine as Bengal's unbeaten run continues

Press Trust of India  |  Ranchi 

Openers and Vivek Singh made quickfire half-centuries as Bengal comfortably defeated by nine wickets, here today to continue their unbeaten run in the of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament.

Chasing Tripura's competitive 169 for four, Goswami remained unbeaten on 82 off 57 balls while Singh made 71 off just 43 deliveries to power Bengal to their third consecutive victory.

also remained unbeaten on 15 as Bengal chased down Tripura's total with two overs to spare.

Earlier, wicket-keeper struck 73 off 57 balls at the top, while the likes of Udiyan Bose (22), Yashpal Singh (24) and Gurinder Singh (25) made useful contributions to help post 169 for the loss of four wickets.

Bengal are leading the with an all-win record having beaten (by 7 wickets) and (by 6 wickets) in their previous two games.

Meanwhile in another match, registered their second victory of the tournament after they defeated by eight wickets.

first restricted to a modest 148 for six wickets and then overwhelmed the score with four overs to spare by losing just two wickets.

For Assam, Sibsankar Roy top-scored with 52, while Amit Sinha made 40.

Medium pacer Monu Kumar (3/23) picked up three wickets for Jharkhand even as returned wicketless.

While chasing Ishant Jaggi remained unbeaten on 68.

Brief Scores:

Tripura: 169 for 4 in 20 overs (73; Manoj Tiwary 1/14) lost to Bengal: 170 for 1 in 18 overs (Shreevats Goswami 82 not out, 71; Abhay Negi 1/15) by 9 wickets.

Assam: 148 for 6 in 20 overs (Sibsankar Roy 52, Amit Sinha 40; Monu Kumar 3/23) lost to Jharkhand: 149 for 2 in 16 overs (Ishank Jaggi 68 not out; Sibsankar Roy 1/16) by 8 wickets.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, January 14 2018. 17:36 IST