You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Hyderabad, Saurashtra storm into quarters

Press Trust of India  |  Hyderabad 

Saurashtra trounced champions by eight wickets for a hat-trick of wins, helping them seal a quarterfinal berth in the Vijay Hazare Trophy here today.

Hosts Hyderbad rode on pacer Mohammed Siraj's 5/37 to hammer by 84 runs and join Saurashtra in the last eight as Group D toppers.

Saurashtra edged out on a better net run-rate for the second spot as it was heartbreak for the reigning Ranji champions who were leading the group with four successive wins before back-to-back defeats knocked them out of the competition.

In a must win match, Vidrabha batsmen struggled to get a partnership going before being bundled out for 159 in 40.5 overs after opted to field at the in Secunderabad.

Jaydev Unadkat (2/18) and (2/33) gave the early breakthroughs before Kamlesh Makvana (2/9) and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja (2/32) wrapped up the issue.

Wicket-keeper batsman steered the chase with an unbeaten 91 off 114 balls (13x4, 2x6) while Pujara remained not out on 46 off 74 balls (5x4) to seal the chase with 170 balls to spare, which was enough to go past on NRR.

Saurashtra's quarterfinal hopes had received a setback after two losses in a row including a shock defeat to

But they have turned it around in style with three comprehensive wins over Jharkhand, Services and Vidarbha.

At the Gymkhana Ground in Secunderabad, overcame a jittery start to post a challenging 280/8 with Bavanaka Sandeep as their top scorer on 79 while (46) and T (45) also chipped in with valuable contributions.

In reply, were bundled out for 196 in 44.3 overs with Siraj returning with his second List A five-wicket haul, while left-arm spinner claimed 2/28.

Brief Scores

At AOC Centre Thapar Stadium, Secunderabad: Vidarbha 159; 40.5 overs (Jitesh Sharma 55; Kamlesh Makvana 2/9, Jaydev Unadkat 2/18, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 2/32, 2/33) lost to Saurashtra 161/2; 34 overs (91 not out, 46 not out) by eight wickets.

At Gymkhana Ground, Secunderabad: 280/8; 50 overs (Sandeep 79, 46, T 45; 3/52) beat 196; 44.3 overs (Amandeep Khare 71, Sanjeet Desai 47; 5/37) by 84 runs.

At Rajiv Gandhi Stadium: 296/9; 50 overs (Virat Singh 96; Parvez Rasool 3/46, 3/71) beat Jammu & 199; 46 overs (S Pundir 74; 3/23, Vikash Singh 3/37) by 97 runs.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, February 14 2018. 18:50 IST