Business Standard

JDS expels three disqualified rebel MLAs


Press Trust of India Bengaluru
Janata Dal (Secular) presidentand former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda Wednesday expelled the three disqualified MLAs who were responsible for bringingdown the party's coalition government in Karnataka for "anti-party" activities.
The three who have been expelled with immediate effect are A H Vishwanath, K Gopalaiah and K C Narayanagowda.
The three, who were JD(S) MLAs, had resigned from thestate legislature and had abstained from voting along with 14Congress MLAs, which led to the defeat of the Congress-JD(S) government during the trust vote on July 23.
The action by the party comes days after these MLAs were disqualified from the state legislature by the then assembly speaker Ramesh Kumar under the anti-defection law.
The Congress on Tuesday had expelled 14 of its rebel MLAs who were disqualified.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jul 31 2019 | 5:35 PM IST

Explore News