You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Kumaraswamy allocates portfolios, retains finance

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

H D retained the key portfolio of Finance and gave Home to his deputy G Parameshwara from the Congress, as he allocated portfolios tonight after intense bargaining between the coalition partners.

is also keeping with him the Energy portfolio which was the bone of contention between the two parties, before the agreed to concede the ground to JD(S).

Portfolio sharing had turned out to be a thorny issue between the and and was thrashed out after much haggling, with both parties announcing an agreement on June one.

While Kumaraswamy's brother H D Revanna has been given Public Works Department, state's senior D K Shivakumar gets and Medium Irrigation, as also Medical Education, after he had initially insisted on Energy.

The portfolio allocation has been made in line with the power sharing agreement.

Senior Congress R V Deshpande gets Revenue and K J and Medium Industries and IT&

The lone woman minister, yesteryear Kannada actress-turned-MLC Jayamala has been given Women and Child development along with Kannada and Culture.

83 year-old M C Managuli, who is the seniormost minister in the coalition government, gets Horticulture.

Portfolios allocated to Congress Ministers are Krishna Byre (Rural Development, Law and Justice, Parliamentary Affairs), Shivashankara Reddy (Agriculture);,

(Municipalities and Local Bodies, Ports and Inland transport), Priyank Kharge (Social Welfare), U T Khader (Housing, City Corporations);

Zameer Ahmed khan (Food and Civil Supplies, Minority Welfare and Wakf), Shivanand Patil (Health and Family Welfare), Venkataramanappa (Labour), Rajshekar Patil (Mines and Geology, Muzrai), Puttaranga Shetty (Backward Classes Welfare).

On the JD(S) side, the portfolios allotted are Bandeppa Kashampur (Cooperation), G T Deve (Higher Education), D C Thammanna (Transport);

S R Srinivas (Small Scale Industries), Venkatrao Nadagouda (Animal Husbandry and Fisheries), C S Puttaraju (Minor Irrigation), Sa Ra Mahesh (Tourism and Sericulture).

BSP's Mahesh has got Primary and Secondary Education, while R Shankar of KPJP has been given Forest and Environment.

has also retained departments including Personnel and Administrative Reforms, Information, Planning and Statistics among others.

Parameshwara has additional charge of subjects related to Bengaluru city and Youth Empowerment.

Kumaraswamy was sworn in as on May 23. Two days later on May 25, he proved the majority on the floor of the assembly.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, June 08 2018. 22:35 IST