You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

MP CM Chouhan, LoP Ajay Singh cast vote in presidential poll

Press Trust of India  |  Bhopal 

Chief Minister and Leader of Opposition Singh cast their votes as the voting for the presidential began in the this morning.

In the first hour of voting which began at 10 am, 85 legislators out of the total 228 eligible voters cast their votes. The polling will end at 5 pm, an official said.

The two contestants for the post of the country's next president are NDA's candidate Ram Nath Kovind and the opposition's

Besides Chouhan and Singh, Speaker Dr Sitasharan Sharma, Deputy Speaker and nearly 12 ministers cast their votes for the presidential

The has a total of 230 Assembly seats. However, only 228 MLAs are eligible to vote at present.

The Chitrakoot Assembly seat is vacant due to the demise of legislator and the state's public relations minister, Narottam Mishra, has been disqualified for three years by the over paid charges.

There are 29 Lok Sabha MPs and 12 Rajya Sabha members from

The electorate have been provided special pens to cast their votes, the election official said.

Following the ink controversy in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana last year, the decided to use special pens for the electors to mark their votes in the presidential election.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 13:02 IST