You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

NCP turncoat wins Maha Legislative Council poll on BJP ticket

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

In a setback to the NCP, the party turncoat and BJP nominee today won the Legislative from the Osmanabad-Beed-local bodies seat.

The former defeated NCP-backed by a margin of 76 votes, an said.

Dhas' victory is seen as a jolt to of Opposition in the Legislative Council Dhananjay Munde (NCP) who is at loggerheads with his estranged cousin sister and BJP

Of the 1003 votes polled, Dhas got 527 votes, while Jagdale polled 451 votes, an official release said. Altogether 25 votes were declared invalid, while a voter opted for the None of the Above (NOTA) option. The quota of votes required for win was 490 votes.

Interestingly, out of the total 1,005 votes, the BJP and collectively had just 367 votes whereas the NCP and the had 527 votes while the MIM and others had 92 votes.

The difference between the votes polled by Dhas and Jagdale indicates that 76 corporators had cross-voted in Dhas' favour.

"Some wearing the watch on their hands have cross-voted for me," Dhas said alluding to the election symbols of the (Hand) and the NCP (clock).

Dhananjay Munde alleged the BJP used all possible means and to ensure victory of its candidate.

Counting of votes was held today for the seat, where biennial elections, along with five other Legislative Council seats, were held on May 21.

While counting of votes for those five seats was held on May 24, the process for Osmanabad-Beed-local bodies seat was deferred due to a court order on suspension of some local bodies members in district.

In the results declared for the five local body seats on May 24, the BJP and the had won two seats each, while the NCP retained one.

The ruling BJP and the had contested the polls in alliance. The opposition and the NCP had also tied-up for the biennial polls.

Apart from Amravati, the BJP bagged Wardha-Chandrapur- Gadchiroli local bodies seat.

The Shiv Sena won the and local bodies seats.

The NCP retained the Raigad-Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg seat but lost the seat to the Sena.

The Congress fared poorly in all the three seats it contested -- Wardha-Chandrapur-Gadhchiroli, and Amravati.

With today's result, the BJP's tally in the 78-member has increased to 19, while the NCP's tally is 21. Congress has 17 and Shiv Sena 11 members in the House. The JD (U) and PRP have one member each while there are six Independents 6.

The BJP would stake claim to the post of deputy chairman of the as it has two more members than the Congress, a said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, June 12 2018. 21:40 IST